My Favorite 25 Albums of 2010: 25 – 11

The album, unlike the single, is a complete offering. It’s not just verse, chorus, verse, chorus, interlude, chorus, outro. It’s not one lone musical idea. It’s an entire pallet of ideas. It’s an opera, a play, a novel. The album can be one of the greatest pieces of art, and when properly done, it’s magical.

And so, here are my favorite albums of 2010 (part 1):

25. Band Of Horses – Infinite Arms

Blue Beard

24. Surfer Blood – Astro Coast

Neighbour Riffs

23. Ben Sollee and Daniel Martin Moore

Try

22. Justin Townes Earle – Harlem River Blues

One More Night In Brooklyn

21. Daft Punk – Tron (Soundtrack)

Outlands

20. The Roots – How I Got Over

Radio Daze

19. The Tallest Man On Earth – The Wild Hunt

A Lion’s Heart

18. Crystal Castles – Crystal Castles

Baptism

17. J. Roddy Walston & The Business – J. Roddy Walston & The Business

Full Growing Man

16. Gil Scott-Heron – I’m New Here

New York Is Killing Me

15. Girl Talk – All Day

This Is The Remix

14. Deerhunter – Halcyon Digest

Memory Boy

13. LCD Soundsystem – This Is Happening

Drunk Girls

12. Owen Pallett – Heartland

Lewis Takes His Shirt Off

11. The Antlers – Hospice

The Bear

3 responses to “My Favorite 25 Albums of 2010: 25 – 11

  1. I Heart the musics you reveal to me.

  2. I like your snowflakes.

  3. That Tron soundtrack starts off sounding like The Dark Kinght/Batman Begins score and ends off sounding like 1989 Batman Score. Weird.

    Also, I hope Eric Hutchinson and/or Sara Bareilles make your list.