Teenage Tunes – Part 3: Why Did I Ever Listen To These Songs

Lots of the songs suggested were pretty terrible. I’m sure we all realize that now, but back then, these were the biggest songs and bands in the world. It’s not just that these songs were overplayed on the radio – it’s actually that they’re straight up bad – especially lyrically.

“He drinks a whisky drink. He drinks a vodka drink. He drinks a lager drink. He drinks a cider drink”

“Up high I feel like I’m alive for the very first time. Set up high I’m strong enough to take these dreams and make them mine.”

“Didn’t make sense not to live for fun. Your brain gets smart but your head gets dumb.”

“All around the world statues crumble for me. Who knows how long I’ve loved you.”

“It’s like rain on your wedding day. It’s a free ride when you’ve already paid.”

WHAT? Are these actual lyrics, or a book of poems written by 3rd graders for a mandatory class assignment? Did we actually listen to these songs? What were we thinking? Did we even know what irony means? Because from the looks of it, we were content thinking of irony as a synonym for anything that sucks.

So why did we listen to these songs?

Because they were catchy as hell. I just listened to all five of these tracks, and I could not help but listen to each of them in their entirety. Sure, I cringed when Alanis said “And isn’t it ironic? Yeah, I really do think.” Shudder. But I still listened to the entire song. Because for all the lyrically and compositional ridiculousness of these songs, they were catchy back then for a reason, and the still are.

And so, here are these songs. I’m ashamed to post them, but as they were a real part of my teenage years (and apparently yours – at least 5 people suggested All Star) they belong in this series. Sigh. Enjoy… I guess.

Chumbawamba – Tubthumping

Creed – Higher

Smash Mouth- All Star

Sugar Ray – Fly

Alanis Morisette – Ironic

3 responses to “Teenage Tunes – Part 3: Why Did I Ever Listen To These Songs

  1. Agree with every song but creed. I understand I grew up in a different “era” but creed was not catchy in any era. They are the worst band to ever make it onto the radio.

  2. Oh lord, these are hilarious. I think I mentally blocked these from my memory, way to bring them crashing back into my life like a drunk fat guy into a folding table full of tacos.

  3. I have got to say i love the snare drum on higher