Nine days

We’ve recently begun a period of mourning for the ancient temple in Jerusalem, commemorating the date when it was burned to the ground, 2000 years ago. Many Orthodox Jews, in an attempt to intensify their mourning, will refrain from listening to music. As a music-blog writer, I feel torn. On the one hand I want to be able to participate as much as possible in this communal mourning. On the other, I want to continue writing and posting.

So, the solution as I see it is a simple one. I’ve always thought of music as a way to express one’s feelings and emotions. We all have songs that we associate with happiness and joy, and songs that we associate with sadness as well.

For the next few days, we’re going to be posting sadder songs. If you have any suggestions, please feel free to email me, or leave them in the comments, and I’ll try to post as many of them as possible.

Olin & The Moon – Hello Goodbye

Ben Harper – Amen Omen

Miles Davis – Blue In Green

3 responses to “Nine days

  1. Just a few tunes:
    Miss Misery- Elliott Smith
    Lost Cause- Beck
    No Surprises- Radiohead
    Hurt- Johnny Cash
    Whiskey Lullaby- Brad Paisley and Alison Krauss
    Everybody Hurts- REM

  2. Great idea Ariel

    Knaan – fatima and I was stabbed by Satan
    decemberists – hazards of love 4 ( the drowning)