Today is 1996

I woke up this morning, convinced that I’d time-traveled back to the mid/late 90s. Round Here, by the Counting Crows was on the radio. Then Bush, Pearl Jam, Sugar Ray, and Weezer. If not for a new Linkin Park song wedged in there (which, by the way, is a whole new type of unlistenable (sic) Linkin Park. I really appreciate it when terrible bands keep their crap fresh), I would’ve been convinced that I was listening to 98 Rock, and was about to get up and ready so my dad could drive me to my 7th grade classes.

I’ve checked this anomaly of a radio station (Radio 929 in Boston), and their entire morning playlist is riddled with late 90s gems. Before I awoke they had played Sneaker Pimps, Chili Peppers, Pearl Jam (twice?), Nirvana, Smashing Pumpkins, Cake, Alanis Morisette, Blink 182, Black Crowes, Dave Matthews, Green Day, STP, and Harvery Freaking Danger. When was the last time Flagpole Sitta was actually played on the radio?

This amazingly 90s playlist, coupled with the fact that they had exactly 1 minute of commercials while I was listening this AM, have led me to the conclusion that this is a radio station of the gods, and that I must appease it by posting in its honor. Enjoy.

Counting Crows – Round Here *Amazing live version, where Adam goes into Van Morrison’s ‘Sweet Thing.’

Bush – Comedown

Pearl Jam – Even Flow *This is the version from one of the Ten sessions. Check out the SRV inspired solo.

Sugar Ray – Fly

Weezer – Buddy Holly *Remember when Windows 95 came with the video for this song. Good times.

[Edit: Between the time I left home and got to work, the station played Hootie and the Blowfish, Cypress Hill,  a second round of Black Crowes, Smashing Pumpkins, and Dave Matthews, Offspring, and Mighty Mighty Bosstones. This station truly is glorious.]

3 responses to “Today is 1996

  1. I think you’ll find that there are good radio stations basically everywhere in the world other than New York. I don’t miss Philadelphia, but I long for the days of WMMR. (In addition to being generally awesome, they played a Pearl Jam block every night at 10, aptly titled “The Ten Club.”

  2. ha! wait a second. who are THE counting crows?

    j/k

    The question is, what will be considered the music of the 2010’s?

    90’s was a good time for music. Hopefully with arcade fire, the national, grizzly bear, and fleet foxes this will be a good time too!

  3. finestcreativity

    oh those are some goodies. Bush!!!