New Music: Mumford and Sons, The Mountain Goats, and Amy Winehouse

Despite the weather turning sour and the year drawing to a close, we have no shortage of new music these days. I haven’t been able to post that much this week (NaNoWriMo is occupying much of my free time), but there are a few great songs that I couldn’t not share.

  • I’m not the hugest Mumford & Sons fan. But since I’ve recently begun playing mandolin, I’ve been trying to dabble in music that has more of a bluegrass tinge to it. Though this is mostly indie alt rock, there’s definitely a bluegrass taste to this band and this track – “Ghosts That We Knew,” which they debuted on Philly’s Radio 104.5.
  • John Darnielle of The Mountain Goats captivates my attention whenever he releases anything at all. The ID3 tags that Mr. Darnielle put on this track before releasing in on Twitter define the genre as “plaguecore” as the song does happen to be about a plague. The song is called “Thucydides II-58” so my guess is that JD is talking about the Plague of Athens, which Thucydides – the Greek historian and inventor of scientific history – survived. History aside, it’s a great lo-fi acoustic track.
  • And finally, two of Ms. Amy Winehouse‘s songs have been posthumously released. We have a collaboration with Nas called “Like Smoke” which juxtaposes Amy’s soulful voice with Nas’ flow, and a poppy soulful number called “Our Day Will Come.” Hearing the tracks is bittersweet; that they’re so good only shows us how great of a talent we truly lost.

2 responses to “New Music: Mumford and Sons, The Mountain Goats, and Amy Winehouse

  1. I’m not much into Mumford & Sons but I did like this one that you put up. Looks like you’ve had to take the 2 Winehouse songs out – I see a file not found message on both when I try to play them.

  2. Have always been a Mumford fan and if they keep making tracks like this, looks like I will be for a long time!