Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood: Live @ Electric Ladyland

I know for a fact that I’ve posted this one before. But I was listening to Radiohead on the way home from work and was struck by the intricacies of their music. I don’t want to sound like a stuck up audiophile, but listening to their stuff without a quality pair of headphones seems slightly sacrilegious. The details in their songs are so subtle, but at the same time so integral to the music.

And then, at the same time, Thom and Jonny are able to go out and do an acoustic show that entirely recreates the music. Acoustic guitar. Piano. Vocals. A drum machine. I’m pretty sure there can’t be that much else going on (though Mr. Greenwood does tend to enjoy playing multiple instruments at the same time), yet the sound is perfect.

The audiophile in me only wants to listen to FLAC with my $150 headphones without any disctractions. But there’s still that rawer side of me that just wants to hear that acoustic version. The part that loves the imperfection of the live show and everything that comes with it. In this bootleg, Mr. Greenwood and Mr. Yorke have managed to maintain the best of both worlds – the raw intensity of an acoustic show, with the musically nuanced perfection of their studio offerings.

Enjoy!

Thom Yorke and Johnny Greenwood – I Might Be Wrong

Thom Yorke and Johnny Greenwood – Sail To The Moon

Thom Yorke and Johnny Greenwood – Punch Up At A Wedding

Thom Yorke and Johnny Greenwood – Go To Sleep

Thom Yorke and Johnny Greenwood – No Surprises

Thom Yorke and Johnny Greenwood – I Will

Thom Yorke and Johnny Greenwood – There There

Thom Yorke and Johnny Greenwood – Everything In Its Right Place

[Edit: I just noticed that the bootleg seems to be incomplete. My apologies. I’ll see what I can do.]

2 responses to “Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood: Live @ Electric Ladyland

  1. Thank you. They are gods.

  2. i got this album quite a while and listen to it at the moment. i totally agree with you! they provide both sides: a unique live experience AND an outstanding sound.
    what a monster of an album!
    greets from germany
    chris