Arcade Fire – The Suburbs

I was really excited to finally listen to Arcade Fire’s new release, “The Suburbs.” So I decided to go back to the live-tweeting approach to an album review. It’s not a deep analysis of the songs, the lyrics, or the artistic presence of the album. It’s merely an AF fan’s first impression of what has proven to be a fantastic third album.

1. The Suburbs – A bit more jangly and open than their previous 2 albums. Almost a Wilco-esque feel to this track. Sounds good so far

2. Ready To Start – Great second track to the album. Starts the car that is this album, lets the engine roar and sets out on the open road.

3. Modern Man – Drum beat is awesome. I love songs with one extra beat. I’m already in love with this song. Doesn’t take much to please me.

4. Rococo – This track screams Bowie, but AF always has sounded like him. Mid-album filler that builds up to a rocking song.

5. Empty Room – Let’s keep this album running with this Bruce inspired uppity track.

6. City With No Children – This is the best track on the album so far. It’s anthemic and danceable to. Everything an AF song should be.

7. Half Light I – Dreamy soundscape that would fit well in a winter wonderland. Almost a holiday track with the jingle of the guitar.

8. Half Light II (No Celebration) – My new favorite track off the album. The drums are just fantastic. This one will sound GREAT in concert.

9. Suburban War – This one’s got some Bruce sounds to it too. Another car reference. Maybe that’s why there’s a car on the cover…

10. Month Of May – Whoa! Punk rock intro. This one sounds NOTHING like them. But I like it.

11. Wasted Hours – Sounds like a lazy summer evening in a small suburban town. These guys can really paint a feeling into their songs.

12. Deep Blue – Rainy afternoon. Staring out the window. Yearning for something else. You can almost feel water dripping down the windowpane

13. We Used To Wait – I wasn’t paying attention to this one. But I remember a back-beat and a pretty rocking song. That is all.

14. Sprawl I (Flatland) – This one sounds like an old-school Jewish dirge. Go to a synagogue on Yom Kippur, and see what I’m talking about.

15. Sprawl II(Mountains Beyond Mountains) – This is a straight up disco song. But it’s really good. I bet they could write good polka music too

16. The Suburbs (Continued) – Dreamy sound. Are we leaving the suburbs? Or are we here forever…

Comments are closed.