Happy Mother’s Day

Today, we celebrate out mothers. We celebrate those that gave us life, and taught us how to live. Yet while for most today is a day focused on happiness, for others, like my family, it’s tinged with sadness, and the realization that there’s one less person in the world who will call my mother “Ima.”

At Gilad’s funeral, my mother opened her eulogy by saying: “All I ever wanted, was to be a mother.”

Well, Ma, you still are. You are still the mother, and always will be, to four children, to two children-in-law, and to every single one of Gilad’s friends.

So yes, Gilad isn’t with us to celebrate your life and motherhood. But you are still his mother. And you are still our mother. And you always and forever will be.

Happy Mother’s Day, Ima.

Paul Simon – Mother And Child Reunion

The Tallest Man On Earth – Mother And Child Reunion (Paul Simon cover)

4 responses to “Happy Mother’s Day

  1. Thanks, Ariel. Your words mean a lot to me.
    [When was that picture taken? I can’t remember but it looks like Mexico.]
    Ima

  2. Looks like Epcot…
    Also, it was taken in January of 2008, so Epcot seems like the best guess.

  3. Take a look at this – for the meaning of the song. Chicken & egg? Interesting…http://www.snopes.com/music/songs/mother.asp

  4. Thinking of you guys

    A Mother’s Day Wish From Heaven

    Dear Mr. Hallmark,

    I am writing to you from heaven,
    and though it must appear

    A rather strange idea,
    I see everything from here.

    I just popped in to visit,
    your stores to find a card

    A card of love for my mother,
    as this day for her is hard.

    There must be some mistake I thought,
    every card you could imagine

    Except I could not find a card,
    from a child who lives in heaven.

    She is still a mother too,
    no matter where I reside

    I had to leave, she understands,
    but oh the tears she’s cried.

    I thought that if I wrote you,
    that you would come to know

    That though I live in heaven now,
    I still love my mother so.

    She talks with me, and dreams with me;
    we still share laughter too,

    Memories our way of speaking now,
    would you see what you could do?

    My mother carries me in her heart,
    her tears she hides from sight.

    She writes poems to honor me,
    sometimes far into the night

    She plants flowers in my garden,
    there my living memory dwells

    She writes to other grieving parents,
    trying to ease their pain as well.

    So you see Mr. Hallmark,
    though I no longer live on earth

    I must find a way,
    to remind her of her wondrous worth

    She needs to be honored,
    and remembered too

    Just as the children of earth will do.

    Thank you Mr. Hallmark,
    I know you’ll do your best

    I have done all I can do;
    to you I’ll leave the rest.

    Find a way to tell her,
    how much she means to me

    Until I can do it for myself,
    when she joins me in eternity.