Kurt Cobain: 1967-1994

April 5th wanes, as does the 17th anniversary of Kurt Cobain’s death. It’s been 17 years since the musical world lost one of its most troubled souls. It’s been more than a decade and a half since we heard that intense, soul rattling voice; and the world of music hasn’t been the same since.

His music had that unique ability to both get you to jump out of your chair and dance around like a maniac while playing air drums with the pencils in your hands, and at the same time make you stop and think – force you to listen to his voice straining, the poetry of his lyrics tugging at your soul, as this man and his band bore their way into our musical consciousness like no one before them, and no one since.

So, to celebrate this man’s all-too-short life, his unbelievable talents, and the catalog of music he left behind, I wanted to share a few songs. Yishai suggested the video, and I thought all of these tracks show the band in all of its forms: intense, energetic, pained, and soulful.

Kurt – this one’s for you.

Nirvana – Been A Son

Nirvana – Polly

Nirvana – Pennyroyal Tea

2 responses to “Kurt Cobain: 1967-1994

  1. Just yesterday I watched the entire MTV unplugged session with Nirvana. I think it was perhaps one of the greatest performances of all time. Dave Grohl looks hilarious…

  2. Thanks for the shout out. The stare at the end gives me chills every time. And good choice of songs to put up. I have so many Nirvana memories. They were the first band I ever got into and listening to them takes me back a place that no other band can. RIP Kurt.