New(ish) Music – Childish Gambino, Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr., Walk The Moon

I did not go by SXSW. I did, however, learn about a bunch of new or new-to-me bands and artists by reading everyone else’s blogs. And then there was a free leech on a breakfast-related torrent website and I went super crazy grabbing as much new music as I could. Here is some of it:

  • I’ve loved Donald Glover ever since I discovered him as the hilarious Troy Barnes on Community. And then I discovered he’s also been rapping for years. And then I discovered it’s actually really good. He goes by Childish Gambino when rapping and I while fully intend to post more extensively about him in the future,  I just couldn’t hold back from sharing this awesome track with you guys. You can download his just released EP here.
  • Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr. is one of the greatest band names ever. They’re putting out an EP that will be released on April 15, but you can stream one track below, or the rest of them on their site.
  • And finally, is the guilty pleasure band that I’ve recently fallen in love with: Walk The Moon. Think of a more radio friendly version of Local Natives and you’re in the right arena. In truth, I saw the video for Anna Sun months ago and the album was released in 2010, but this is the first I’m giving it a real listen.

Childish Gambino – Freaks and Geeks

Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr. – Nothing But Our Love

Walk The Moon – Anna Sun

Comments are closed.