My Morning Jacket – The Tennessee Fire Live

I first purchased MMJ’s “The Tennessee Fire” for a few dollars at Record & Tape Traders in Baltimore. I had just got back from seeing them on New Year’s Eve with Elana in Madison Square Garden; the epic 4-hour performance that solidified our love for this band.

But TTF, didn’t really seem like the same band that we had seen a few weeks earlier. It seemed more country. More amateur. Different. I mentioned it to my friend Yonah a few months ago, and he insisted that I listen to live versions of the songs off the album. Thus began my fascination with his elaborately constructed “Renditions” albums – complete albums of carefully picked live versions of the songs. And of course, he was right – “The Tennessee Fire” is quite a good album – especially considering how the band plays it live these days.

When I asked his permission to post the live album, he offered to make me an ever better one. So here, thanks to Yonah’s hard work, is a beautifully awesome version of My Morning Jacket’s 1999 debut “The Tennessee Fire,” including a TTF-era song that never made it onto the album.

Download the entire album here.

1. Heartbreakin’ Man (Bonnaroo 2005- What Stage)

2. They Ran (2006.12.01 Philadelphia, PA- The Electric Factory)

3. The Bear (Acoustic Citsuoca Live! at the Startime Pavilion)

4. From Nashville to Kentucky (iTunes Live from Las Vegas At The Palms)

5. Old September Blues (2000.04.05 Loosdrecht, Holland)

6. If All Else Fails (2010.10.18 NY, NY – Terminal 5)

7. It’s About Twilight Now (At Dawn/Tennessee Fire Demos Package)

8. Evelyn Is Not Real (2000.04.16 Leeuwarden, Holland- Theater Romein)

9. War Begun (Austin City Limits 2008 PBS Broadcast)

10. Picture of You (2003.11.17 Malmö, Sweden- Kulturbolaget)

11. I Will Be There When You Die (Chapter 2 Learning Early Recordings)

12. The Dark (2006.12.31 San Francisco, CA- The Fillmore)

13. By My Car (2001.12.21 Louisville, KY- Headliners Music Hall)

14. Butch Cassidy (2006.12.29 San Francisco, CA- The Fillmore)

15. I Think I’m Going To Hell (Okonokos)

16. Lil Billy (At Dawn/Tennessee Fire Demos Package)

Comments are closed.