New(ish) Music – Iron & Wine, The Decemberists, R.E.M., and Bright Eyes

We’ve got some more musical news for you in the form of recently released singles, and streaming albums:

  • The Decemberists‘ forthcoming album “The King Is Dead” is currently streaming live on NPR Music, and will remain so until the album’s release on January 18th. My tickets to their upcoming Boston show just came in the mail (in a letter I opened while the album was streaming on my headphones – it was perfection), so listen to the album, get excited, and go see them in concert.
  • Iron & Wine debuted their new album “Kiss Each Other Clean” last night on a live NPR video stream (which left much to be desired on the bandwidth front). However, the audio has been mastered and is up on NPR for stream or download.
  • R.E.M. just dropped Oh My Heart, the third single off “Collapse Into Now.” The album is set to be released on March 3rd and you can hear the song on  YouTube or below.
  • Bright Eyes has taken a cue from just about every other band out there: For the cost of your email address, you can have Mr. Oberst’s new single Shell Games, which, despite the annoyingly 80s synth that kicks in around the 1 minute mark, proves to be quite a good song.

The Decemberists – January Hymn

Iron & Wine – Walking Far From Home

R.E.M. – Oh My Heart

Bright Eyes – Shell Games

One response to “New(ish) Music – Iron & Wine, The Decemberists, R.E.M., and Bright Eyes

  1. Hi. I was google imaging ‘waiting rooms’ and came across one of your brother’s posts from June and then, because I am a troubled soul, I hopped over here and – with a small wrenching sound – realized that the person who had written the words I had just read has passed away and that somehow I had happened upon you the day after you went to visit the cemetery. I wish you could still say ‘Huzzah!’ to your brother. Right this minute, a total stranger is wishing that more than just about anything.

    The world is weird and troubled souls are, indeed, united – in some of the strangest ways.