The Dead Weather – Coachella 2010

I was speaking with a friend yesterday about bands I really want to see in concert, and one of my top acts actually contained three subsets. The concert I really would love to go to is a Jack White concert. I know – he has three bands. And I know, they all have very different sounds. But I’m pretty sure that 30 years from now, kids will look at the Jack White collection like I looked at Eric Clapton’s music as a young child when I first attained a copy of Cream of Clapton. Though my dad could tell every nuanced difference between Clapton’s solo work, his Derek and the Dominoes songs, and his brilliant Cream tracks, to me this was just one brilliant guitarist with an awesome greatest hits album.

Jack White is just the same. Sure, he surrounds himself with amazing musicians (Alison Moshart, Brendan Benson), but so did Clapton (Steve Winwood, Duane Allman, Jack Bruce, Ginger Baker), and in the end it was Clapton’s artistic vision and genius that shone through all those years later; it’s going to be the same thing with Mr. White. While I admit that neither The Raconteurs nor The Dead Weather are the supergroup that Cream was, I still opine that Jack White his ability to create fantastic music with any group of people places him as one of the most talented musicians, songwriters, and performers of our generation.

Enjoy this recent The Dead Weather bootleg from Coachella, and look towards a feature on The Dead Weather’s new single later this week.

1. The Dead Weather – Forever My Queen 2. The Dead Weather – 60 Feet Tall3. The Dead Weather – Hang You From The Heavens4. The Dead Weather – You Just Can’t Win5. The Dead Weather – So Far From Your Weapon6. The Dead Weather – I Cut Like A Buffalo7. The Dead Weather – No Horse8. The Dead Weather – Blue Blood Blues9. The Dead Weather – Hustle And Cuss10. The Dead Weather – Die By The Drop11. The Dead Weather – Will There Be Enough Water?12. The Dead Weather – New Pony13. The Dead Weather – Treat Me Like Your Mother

A note to those paying attention: In the version of this show I recieved, there was no Track 9. Thus, while your .mp3s may say you’re going all the way to track 14, without a 9th song, worry not – you’re not actually missing anything.

2 responses to “The Dead Weather – Coachella 2010

  1. I’m not bothered about the Dead Weather, but the Raconteurs are ace live.

    I think also that White will leave a better legacy than Clapton – some of Clapton’s stuff is garbage!

  2. this is a fantastic post. I like Mr White more than I like Clapton, though, not gonna lie

    I was at coachella this year and this set rocked. thanks for the mp3s

    PS I love Ulysses.